Van Morrison Moondance Deluxe Five Disc & Expanded Two Disc Editions Available October 22 From Warner Bros. Records


Sign in to view read count
Moondance Shines Brighter

Van Morrison’s Classic Revisited With Five-Disc Deluxe Edition Loaded With Unreleased Takes From The Sessions, Including The Lost Track “I Shall Sing”

The Newly Remastered Album Also Available As Single Disc And As Double Disc Featuring 11 Unreleased Tracks

All Three Available October 22 From Warner Bros. Records

LOS ANGELES, CA – In the fall of 1969, Van Morrison entered the studio to record MOONDANCE, the album that would soon become his commercial breakthrough and one of the most beloved recordings of all time. Fans will soon have the rare opportunity to experience this classic album like never before with the newly remastered and expanded version featuring 50 unreleased tracks including studio outtakes of favorites like “Caravan, “Moondance” and “Into The Mystic,” plus multiple takes and a final mix of the unheard track “I Shall Sing”.

Three different physical versions of MOONDANCE will be available from Warner Bros. Records on October 22. Digital versions will also be available.

Deluxe Edition – 4 CDs/1 Blu-Ray Audio
• Newly remastered version of the original album
• Three discs of previously unreleased music from the sessions
• Blu-Ray Audio disc with high-resolution 48K 24 bit PCM stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound audio of original album (no video)
• Presented in a linen-wrapped folio
• Includes a booklet with liner notes from Alan Light and original engineer Elliot Scheiner
• Retail price, $69.98

Expanded Edition – 2 CDs
• Newly remastered version of the original album
• 11 previously unreleased tracks (highlights from the Deluxe Edition)
• Retail price, $24.98

Standard Edition – 1 CD
• Newly remastered version of the original album
• Retail price, $11.98

The Deluxe Edition unearths an amazing trove of unreleased gems that take the listener right alongside Morrison and his band in studio. There are multiple, often lengthy, takes from the recording sessions of nearly every track found on the 1970 original, including “Glad Tidings,” “Brand New Day” and “Come Running.” There are also early takes of “I’ve Been Working,” a song that would appear later that year on His Band And The Street Choir. The early version included here is quite different from the official album version. The Deluxe Edition also includes a Blu-Ray audio disc with high-resolution stereo and surround mixes of the original album, mixed by original engineer Elliot Scheiner, who also oversaw the new re-mastering of the album.

One of the most significant revelations is “I Shall Sing,” a Morrison original that was completed but left off the album. There are multiple takes of the song (spread across six tracks), plus a final mix of the finished song. While no one has heard Morrison’s version, Art Garfunkel had a Top 40 hit with the song, which appeared on his 1973 solo debut.

Following its release by Warner Bros. in February 1970, MOONDANCE would later be certified triple platinum by the RIAA, inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame (1999) and named #65 on the list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time” published by Rolling Stone (2003).


Disc One – Original Album Remastered
  1. “And It Stoned Me”
  2. “Moondance”
  3. “Crazy Love”
  4. “Caravan”
  5. “Into The Mystic”
  6. “Come Running”
  7. “These Dreams Of You”
  8. “Brand New Day”
  9. “Everyone”
  10. “Glad Tidings”
Disc Two – All Previously Unreleased
  1. “What do we call this Van?”
  2. “Caravan” (Take 1)
  3. “Caravan” (Takes 2-3)
  4. “Caravan” (Take 4)
  5. “Caravan” (Takes 5-6)
  6. “Caravan” (Take 7)
  7. “Caravan” (Take 8)
  8. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Take 1)
  9. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Take 2)
  10. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version Take 5)
  11. “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Outtake)
  12. “I Shall Sing” (Take 1)
  13. “I Shall Sing” (Takes 2-3)
  14. “I Shall Sing” (Takes 4-6)
  15. “I Shall Sing” (Take 7)
  16. “I Shall Sing” (Takes 8-12)
  17. “I Shall Sing” (Take 13)
Disc Three – All Previously Unreleased
  1. “Into The Mystic” (Take 10)
  2. “Into The Mystic” (Take 11)
  3. “Into The Mystic” (Takes 12-13)
  4. “Into The Mystic” (Takes 14-16)
  5. “Into The Mystic” (Take 17)
  6. “Brand New Day” (Take 1)
  7. “Brand New Day” (Take 2)
  8. “Brand New Day” (Take 3)
  9. “Brand New Day” (Take 4)
  10. “Brand New Day” (Takes 5-6)
  11. “Brand New Day” (Take 7)
  12. “Glad Tidings (Take 1)
  13. “Glad Tidings (Takes 2-4)
  14. “Glad Tidings (Takes 7-8)
  15. “Glad Tidings (Take 9)
  16. “Caravan Redo” (Takes 1-2)
  17. “Caravan Redo” (Take 3)
Disc Four – All Previously Unreleased
  1. “Come Running” (Take 1)
  2. “Come Running” (Take 2)
  3. “Come Running” (Takes 3-4)
  4. “Come Running” (Take 5)
  5. “Come Running” (“Rolling On 4”)
  6. “Moondance” (Take 21)
  7. “Moondance” (Take 22)
  8. “Glad Tidings” (Alt. Version)
  9. “These Dreams Of You” (Alt Version)
  10. “Crazy Love” (Remix)
  11. “Glad Tidings” (Remix 1)
  12. “Glad Tidings” (Remix 2)
  13. “Glad Tidings” (Remix 3)
  14. “Caravan” (Remix)
  15. “These Dreams Of You” (Remix)
  16. “I Shall Sing” (Mix)
Disc Five - Blu-Ray Audio disc with high-resolution 48K 24 bit PCM stereo and DTS- HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound audio of original album (no video)


Disc One – Original Album Remastered

Disc Two – All Previously Unreleased
  1. “Caravan” (Take 4)
  2. “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” (Outtake)
  3. “Into The Mystic” (Take 11)
  4. “Brand New Day” (Take 3)
  5. “Glad Tidings” (Alt. Version)
  6. “Come Running”(Take 2)
  7. “Crazy Love” (Mono Mix)
  8. “These Dreams Of You” (Alt. Version)
  9. “Moondance” (Take 22)
  10. “I Shall Sing” (Take 7)
  11. “I’ve Been Working” (Early Version, Take 5)
Listen to Van Morrison “Into The Mystic" (Unreleased Version)

This story appears courtesy of 1888 Media.
Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.

Visit Website | Purchase

For interview requests or more information contact .

Post a comment



Shop Amazon

Jazz News

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.