Toots Thielemans Honored at San Sebastian Jazz Festival


Sign in to view read count
Since 1994, the San Sebastian Jazz Festival (now Heineken Jazzaldia) has honored an outstanding musician or impresario for his or her contribution to jazz.

This year, Toots Thielemans joins previous award winners: Doc Cheatham (1994), Phil Woods (1995), Hank Jones (1996), Steve Lacy (1997), Chick Corea (1998), Max Roach and Clark Terry (1999), Kenny Barron (2000), Ray Brown (2001), Elvin Jones (2002), Bebo Valdes (2003), Shirley Horn and the director Fernando Trueba (2004), Keith Jarrett and Charles Mingus (In Memoriam) (2005), Herbie Hancock (2006), Wayne Shorter (2007), Ahmad Jamal (2008), Roy Haynes (2009) and Ron Carter (2010).

Visit Website

Post a comment



Shop Amazon

Jazz News

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.