Theo Bleckmann Covers Kate Bush on Hello Earth!


Sign in to view read count

After tackling American maverick composer Charles Ives and receiving a Grammy nomination for it, vocalist Theo Bleckmann now takes on the mysterious songbook of British pop recluse Kate Bush on Hello Earth! out March 13. This project goes beyond merely re-creating Kate's Bush music, taking it into other realms of sound and interpretation.

Bush's œuvre is indeed mysterious and often enigmatic in nature: unusual song forms, oracular lyrics amd unpredictable meter- and harmony-changes are an anomaly in pop music, making it the perfect vehicle for Bleckmann's distinctive, interpretive spirit and interest in the unusual.

Even though Bush still remains a household name, it is fair to say that her music is not your usual run-of the mill boy-meets-girl/boy-loses-girl fare. Her use of British and Irish myths, her references to psychology, literature and film, her meticulously multi-layered productions and her unusually high voice make her idiosyncratic body of work challenging for other artists to interpret.

Joining Bleckmann in this venture are long-time collaborators percussionist John Hollenbeckand electric bassist Skúli Sverrisson, and keyboardist Henry Hey and violinist/guitarist/vocalist Caleb Burhans, who can also be heard on Bleckmann's Berlin CD.

Bleckmann and his collaborators will perform an album release show at New York City's Highline Ballroom on April 7. Click here for tickets.


  1. Running Up That Hill
  2. Suspended In Gaffa
  3. And Dream Of Sheep
  4. Under Ice
  5. Violin
  6. Hello Earth
  7. Cloudbusting
  8. All The Love
  9. Saxophone Song
  10. Army Dreamers
  11. The Man With The Child In His Eyes
  12. Watching You Without Me
  13. Love And Anger
  14. This Woman's Work

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Jazz News