The Doors: Live in New York


Sign in to view read count
Live In New York Documents The Doors' Final Four New York Concerts with Jim Morrison
In Their Entirety with Six-Disc Collection

Boxed Set Due November 10, 180-Gram Vinyl Pressings of All the Band's Studio Albums Available September 15

Rhino and Bright Midnight Archives unleash four inspired performances from The Doors' final tour with Live In New York. The latest addition to the band's acclaimed series of archival concert releases, this six-disc collection contains all four of The Doors' performances - in their entirety - recorded in 1970 at the Felt Forum in New York City. The collection will be available November 10 at all retail outlets, for suggested list price of $89.98 for the physical boxed set. A digital version featuring select highlights from all four Felt Forum shows will also be available at all digital retail outlets for $9.99.

The year prior to these shows, The Doors became one of the first rock bands to play New York City's Madison Square Garden. When they returned in 1970, Densmore says they chose to play the Felt Forum, a smaller venue at the Garden. “It was more intimate, and you could feel the audience more," he says. “There was more interaction, and the acoustics were much better, because it was designed for music."

Fans will be blown away by the crisp sound found on Live In New York. All four shows were mixed and mastered by the band's longtime engineer, Bruce Botnick, who recorded a number of shows from The Doors' 1970 tour on multi-track tape for the Absolutely Live album. While most of the music contained on Live In New York is unreleased, a few songs (and portions of songs) surfaced in 1970 on Absolutely Live and in 1997 on The Doors Box Set.

Prior to the release of Live In New York, Rhino will release 180-gram vinyl versions of all six Doors studio albums on September 15. Previously available only in 2007's The Doors Vinyl Box, original stereo mixes of The Doors' six albums will now be available individually at all vinyl retail outlets for a suggested list price of $24.98 each.

The Doors Live In New York Track Listing

Disc 1
January 17, 1970 (First Show)
1. Start Of Show
2. Roadhouse Blues
3. Ship Of Fools*
4. Break On Through (To The Other Side)
5. Tuning
6. Peace Frog
7. Blue Sunday
8. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)
9. Back Door Man*
10. Love Hides*
11. Five To One*
12. Tuning/Breather
13. Who Do You Love
14. Little Red Rooster
15. Money
16. Tuning
17. Light My Fire*
18. More, More, More
19. Soul Kitchen*
20. End Of Show

Disc 2
January 17, 1970 (Second Show)
1. Start Show 2
2. Jim “How Ya Doing?"
3. Roadhouse Blues
4. Break On Through (To The Other Side)*
5. Ship Of Fools
6. Crawling King Snake
7. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)
8. Back Door Man*
9. Five To One
10. Pretty Neat, Pretty Good
11. Build Me A Woman
12. Tuning/Breather
13. Who Do You Love*
14. Tuning/Breather
15. Wild Child*
16. Cheering/Tuning
17. When The Music's Over

Disc 3
January 17, 1970 (Second Show) continued
1. Tuning/Breather
2. Light My Fire*
3. Hey, Mr. Light Man!
4. Soul Kitchen*
5. Jim's Fish Joke
6. The End
7. End Of Show

Disc 4
January 18, 1970 (Third Show)
1. Start Show 3
2. Roadhouse Blues*
3. Ship Of Fools*
4. Break On Through (To The Other Side)*
5. Tuning/Breather
6. Universal Mind*
7. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) - False Start*
8. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)*
9. Back Door Man*
10. Five To One
11. Tuning/Breather
12. Moonlight Drive
13. Who Do You Love*
14. Calling Out For Songs
15. Money*
16. Tuning/Breather
17. Light My Fire
18. More, More More
19. When The Music's Over*
20. Good Night - End Show

Disc 5
January 18, 1970 (Fourth Show)
1. Start Show 4
2. Roadhouse Blues*
3. Peace Frog*
4. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)*
5. Back Door Man
6. Five To One
7. We Have A Special Treat
8. Celebration Of The Lizard
9. Alright Let's Boogie
10. Build Me A Woman
11. When The Music's Over*
12. More, More, More

Disc 6
January 18, 1970 (Fourth Show) continued
1. Soul Kitchen*
2. For Fear Of Getting Too Patriotic
3. Petition The Lord With Prayer
4. Light My Fire
5. Only When The Moon Comes Out
6. Close To You
7. The Encore Begins
8. Rock Me*
9. What To Do Next?
10. Going To N.Y. Blues*
11. Tuning/Breather
12. Maggie M'Gill*
13. Tuning/Breather
14. Gloria*/End Of Show

*Previously unreleased

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.

Post a comment


Jazz News

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.