The Doors: L.A. Woman 40th Anniversary Reissue


Sign in to view read count

Fans of iconic rock band The Doors are in for something special. The group's final album, 1971's L.A. Woman, with the signature hits “L.A. Woman," “Love Her Madly" and “Riders On The Storm"—is being celebrated with a special two-CD release from Rhino and a behind-the-scenes DVD/Blu-ray from Eagle Rock Entertainment.

The L.A. Woman 40th anniversary edition (Rhino 2-CD) features a never-before-heard song, “She Smells So Nice," which captures the band—organist Ray Manzarek, guitarist Robby Krieger, drummer John Densmore and late singer Jim Morrison—joyfully barreling through a full-throttle original before segueing into the blues standard “Rock Me." As the song closes, Morrison can be heard chanting, “Mr. Mojo Risin'"—an anagram of his name that was made famous during the bridge of “L.A. Woman." Recently discovered by producer Bruce Botnick while reviewing the L.A. Woman session tapes, a teaser clip of “She Smells So Nice" can be heard here.

In addition to “She Smells So Nice," the second disc of the L.A. Woman reissue includes eight never-before-heard versions of songs from the album. Alternate takes of “L.A. Woman," “Love Her Madly" and “Riders On The Storm" offer a fresh view on this landmark album, which was the group's sixth straight Top 10. The studio chatter between the songs is a revelation, transporting listeners to The Doors Workshop: the West Hollywood rehearsal space where they recorded the album with Botnick.

Rhino will also release L.A. Woman: The Workshop Sessions, a double LP featuring all of the previously unreleased material found on the CD collection on three sides of vinyl, with the fourth side featuring a laser etching of the original “Electric Woman" art originally included with the L.A. Woman album.

Mr. Mojo Risin': The Story of L.A. Woman (Eagle Rock Entertainment DVD/Blu-ray) is told through new interviews with Manzarek, Krieger and Densmore as well as Elektra Records founder Jac Holzman, original manager Bill Siddons, engineer/co-producer Bruce Botnick and others. The high-definition video also features live and studio performances as well as rare archival photos. This fascinating documentary contains rare footage of The Doors in the studio and on stage. The documentary was made with the full involvement, approval and cooperation of The Doors.

CD Track Listing

Disc One

  1. “The Changeling"
  2. “Love Her Madly"
  3. “Been Down So Long"
  4. “Cars Hiss By My Window"
  5. “L.A.Woman"
  6. “L'America"
  7. “Hyacinth House"
  8. “Crawling King Snake"
  9. “The WASP (TexasRadio and the Big Beat)"
  10. “Riders On The Storm"

Disc Two: All Selections Previously Unissued

  1. “The Changeling"—Alternate Version*
  2. “Love Her Madly"—Alternate Version*
  3. “Cars Hiss By My Window"—Alternate Version*
  4. “L.A.Woman"—Alternate Version*
  5. “The WASP (Texas Radio and the Big Beat)"—Alternate Version*
  6. “Been Down So Long"—Alternate Version*
  7. “Riders On The Storm"—Alternate Version*
  8. “She Smells So Nice"
  9. “Rock Me"*

LP Track Listing

Side One

  1. “The Changeling"—Alternate Version*
  2. “Love Her Madly"—Alternate Version*
  3. “Cars Hiss By My Window"—Alternate Version*
  4. “L.A.Woman"—Alternate Version*

Side Two

  1. “The WASP (TexasRadio and the Big Beat)"—Alternate Version*
  2. “Been Down So Long"—Alternate Version*
  3. “Riders On The Storm"—Alternate Version*

Side Three

1. “She Smells So Nice / Rock Me"*

* Previously unreleased

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.

Post a comment


Jazz News

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.