82

The Brooklyn Jazz Underground surfaces

SOURCE:

Sign in to view read count
RED CAT PUBLICITY JASoN PAuL HARMaN BYRnE The Brooklyn Jazz Underground, a newly formed collective, is an association of independent bandleaders with a shared commitment to improvised music. Through cooperative effort, members of the BJU strive to create greater awareness of their work.

The Brooklyn Jazz Underground Launch Festival To Take Place at Smalls - January 11-14 (see details below)

The Brooklyn Jazz Underground is:
Alexis Cuadrado - www.alexiscuadrado.com, Shane Endsley - www.kneebody.com, Alan Ferber - www.alanferber.com, Anne Mette Iversen - www.annemetteiversen.com, Sunny Jain - www.jainsounds.com, Tanya Kalmanovitch - www.tanyakalmanovitch.com, Benny Lackner - www.bennylackner.com, Ted Poor - www.tedpoor.com, Dan Pratt - www.danpratt.com, Jerome Sabbagh - www.jeromesabbagh.com

January 2007 will see the birth of The Brooklyn Jazz Underground, a new collective conceived in the spirit of a new, do-it-yourself music industry, and the emergence of myriad independent artists and record labels, spawning a creative boom which counts Brooklyn as one of its bastions of innovation and artistry. The Brooklyn Jazz Underground is a shining example of a vibrant, thriving, creative group that keeps jazz and improvised music perpetually evolving. Individually and collectively, they serve an important role in our culture and society by providing a bustle of composing, playing and teaching that enriches, delights, provokes, inspires and educates. By pooling their resources, and through cooperative effort, the members hope to create a greater awareness of their work.

From January 11th through the 14th at Smalls in Greenwich Village, NYC, the group will present their first annual festival to officially launch The Brooklyn Jazz Underground, featuring all ten members leading their own ensembles in performances of original music. The Underground's first annual compilation CD will also be issued at this time. Other ambitions of the collective include becoming a charitable organization (plans are in the works to contribute to funds to benefit public school music programs), and to present a weekly residency in a NYC club featuring members' bands.

Catch members of The Brooklyn Jazz Underground at The IAJE: Panel: The Artists' Collective in Jazz: Unity and Diversity in the New York Scene, Thursday, January 11, 2007, at 4:00 PM, New York Ballroom West - Sheraton Hotel 3rd Floor. Tanya Kalmanovitch (moderator), Alexis Cuadrado and Alan Ferber will be joined by two founding members of the Jazz Composers' Collective, Ben Allison and Frank Kimbrough, to discuss the benefits of artists collectives, as well as the potential problems, to share information about what works, and what doesn't, and to inspire people to establish similar organizations in their local scenes.

The Brooklyn Jazz Underground Launch Festival @ Smalls, January 11-14: Smalls is located at 183 West 10th Street, at 7th Avenue South

Thursday, JANUARY 11: 8:30 PM: Benny Lackner Trio, 10:00 PM: Shane Endsley Group, 11:30 PM: Tanya Kalmanovitch Hut Five

Friday, JANUARY 12: 10:00 PM Alexis Cuadrado Sextet, 11:30 PM: Alan Ferber Nonet

Saturday, JANUARY 13: 10:00 PM Sunny Jain Collective, 11:30 PM: Dan Pratt Organ Quartet

Sunday, JANUARY 14: 8:30 Anne Mette with strings, 10:00 PM Jerome Sabbagh Quartet, 11:30 PM Ted Poor Trio

This story appears courtesy of Jason Byrne, Red Cat Publicity.
Copyright © 2019. All rights reserved.

Visit Website

For interview requests or more information contact .

Tags

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

News