104

Tea Leaf Green, with Current Album "Radio Tragedy" Brewing, Announces Summer Tour 2011

SOURCE:

Sign in to view read count
Band pays tribute to Clarence Clemons at historic Stone Pony in Asbury Park.

SAN FRANCISCO, Calif.—This past Sunday, Father's Day, Tea Leaf Green performed at the fabled Stone Pony bar and frequent home of Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band in what became a tribute concert for legendary saxophonist Clarence Clemons. Springsteen and Clemons met at the Asbury Park bar in 1971, a story both men have told onstage for the past 40 years. Clemons, 69, the “Big Man" in Bruce Springsteen's E Street Band, died Saturday night.

Fans who came to pay respects were given free admission to evening headliners Tea Leaf Green who showed love and admiration for Clemons. “It was an honor to pay tribute to 'The Big Man' at our last show on this leg of the tour," said guitarist/vocalist Josh Clark. “We saw firsthand how much Asbury Park and the Stone Pony loved him. We listened to him play all day in the van on our way down there."

Fellow band member Trevor Garrod added, “When we found out Clarence had died we where still a few hours from Asbury Park. It was a beautiful day; the sun was setting into a riot of crimson clouds; flowers and chalk drawings lined the sidewalk outside of the club. The Atlantic Ocean's waves rolled calmly in across the street. Though we where only coming through coincidentally, we nonetheless felt honored to be part of the celebration of this great musician's life. We couldn't help but feel that somehow the universe was encouraging us to keep up this tradition of rock 'n roll. After we played our set, I jumped into the moonlit sea with some kids who had come to watch the show. I couldn't help but wonder if, back in the day, Clarence had ever done the same. He will be missed."

San Francisco Bay Area troubadours Tea Leaf Green are newfangled Lost Boys, a traveling gang dedicated to seeking wisdom and experience in places both glorious and seedy. The band's summer tour kicks off on July 2 in Colorado on the heels of its seventh studio album, Radio Tragedy!, freshly released through Thirty Tigers.

In many ways, this quintet is the essence of rock's adventurous, playfully outlaw spirit, all of which ultimately fuels songs that resonate with classic vibrations, open-ended possibilities and radio-ready charm. With Radio Tragedy!, Tea Leaf Green have made a record that's both timely and timeless—a strange, beautiful space that they inhabit naturally and gracefully.

TEA LEAF GREEN Summer tour dates 2011

  • Sat., July 2 SNOWMASS VILLAGE, CO The ECO Music Festival
  • Sun., July 10 DETROIT, MI St. Andrews Hall
  • Mon., July 11 COLUMBUS, OH Newport Music Hall
  • Tues., July 12 GRAND RAPIDS, MI The Intersection
  • Wed., July 13 INDIANAPOLIS, IN Egyptian Room at Murat Theater
  • Thurs., July 14 DAVENPORT, IA The Redstone Room
  • Fri., July 15 MILWAUKEE, WI Shank Hall
  • Sat., July 16 MINNEAPOLIS, MN Cabooze On West Bank
  • Sat., July 23 BRIDGEPORT, CT Gathering of the Vibes
  • Tues., July 26 SPOKANE, WA Knitting Factory
  • Wed., July 27 VANCOUVER, WA Commodore Ballroom
  • Thurs., July 28 PORTLAND, OR Oregon Zoo Amphitheatre
  • Fri., July 29 BELLINGHAM, WA Wild Buffalo
  • Sat., July 30 SEATTLE, WA Neptune Theatre
  • Sun., July 31 EUGENE, OR W.O.W. Hall
  • Mon., Aug. 1 RENO, NV Grand Sierra Theatre
  • Wed., Aug. 3 LOS ANGELES, CA Club Nokia
  • Thurs., Aug. 4 VENTURA, CA Majestic Ventura Theatre
  • Fri., Aug. 5 PIONEERTOWN, CA Pappy & Harriet's Palace
  • Sat., Aug. 6 LAS VEGAS, NV Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
  • Sun., Aug. 7 SAN DIEGO, CA Humphrey's Concerts by Bay
  • Tues., Aug. 9 ANAHEIM, CA The Grove of Anaheim
  • Wed., Aug. 10 TEMPE, AZ Marquee Theatre
  • Mon., Sept. 5 BETHLEHEM, PA SteelJam Festival
  • Fri., Sept. 30 SAN FRANCISCO, CA The Independent
  • Sat., Oct. 1 SAN FRANCISCO, CA The Independent

This story appears courtesy of conqueroo.
Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.

For interview requests or more information contact .

Post a comment

Tags

Jazz News

Popular

All About Jazz needs your support

Donate
All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.