Stax Records to Release Long Awaited "Moon Ride," the Debut Album from Legendary Songwriter Leon Ware


Sign in to view read count

Stax Records is proud to announce the release of Moon Ride, the debut album from legendary songwriter, producer and vocalist, Leon Ware. A music maker for four decades, Leon's list of impressive credits includes classic recordings by Quincy Jones, Minnie Riperton, Michael Jackson, Maxwell, Average White Band and of course, the late Marvin Gaye (whose Ware-written and produced “I Want You" LP remains a seminal Motown album). The hypnotically evocative “Loceans" expresses a romantic love and lust for life. In the tradition of his prior recordings and work with others, songs on the new album like “Just Take Your Time," “Hold Tonight" and “Smoovin'" are love-filled odes, a heady mix of fantasy and reality. The 12-track collection of new Ware-produced material will be in stores on August 12, 2008.

Moon Ride is the Detroit native's first major label album in over two decades and represents the culmination of a very active period in Leon's career. Since 1995, Leon has been writing, producing and recording as an independent artist with four albums to his credit - the R&B-flavored “Taste The Love"; the 2001 set “Candelight" recorded with jazz keyboardist Don Grusin; the passion-charged “Love's Drippin,'" a 2003 release; and 2004's Brazilian-themed “A Kiss In The Sand." During the last decade, he's been a frequent visitor to the UK where his sold-out concerts at London's Jazz Caf before an adoring audience (singing along with almost his entire repertoire) are legendary; U.S. performances at New York's Blue Note and the Temple Bar in Los Angeles have only served to heighten interest in Leon's musical catalog as an artist, writer and producer.

Even with a catalog of nine of his own albums released since 1972, Leon says “I've never really been out there as a fully-fledged recording artist and performer because of my love for producing and writing. Now," he emphasizes, “it's time to do that..."

Track listing:
1. Moon Ride (4:27)
2. Blue Dress (3:24)
3. Hold Tonight (4:36)
4. Just Take Your Time (5:14)
5. Smoovin' (5:06)
6. Loceans (5:07)
7. I Never Loved So Much (5:15)
8. To Serve You (All My Love) (5:29)
9. Soon (4:21)
10. A Whisper Away (5:42)
11. From Inside (4:06)
12. Urban Nights (4:57)

This story appears courtesy of All About Jazz Publicity.
Copyright © 2019. All rights reserved.

Visit Website

For interview requests or more information contact .


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.