Paul Simon: Songwriter 2-Disc Collection out 10/24


Sign in to view read count

Songwriter is a selection of songs, chosen by the composer, as the best of his decades-long creative output. Some of these are well-known hits and others more obscure works, but all bear the distinct lyrical, melodic and rhythmic signature of Paul Simon, one of the great composers of popular song in the last 50 years. As Simon has said, “I think of myself as a songwriter first, the recording artist and performer in me follow in the writer's footsteps."

Simon brought his own unique perspective on the nuances of his catalog in the assemblage of Songwriter. The album includes an emotionally resonant rendition of “The Sound of Silence," from Simon's 2011 concert at New York's Webster Hall, Aretha Franklin's transcendent studio take on “Bridge Over Trouble Water" and other selections from the artist's critically-acclaimed catalog of songs.

Selecting the individual songs for Songwriter, from the hundreds he's written and recorded, presented Paul Simon an opportunity to reflect over the entirety of his career. The collection showcases the individual songs best-exemplifying the high-points in his conversations with the muses, from his early work with Simon & Garfunkel to his ruminations on 2011's So Beautiful or So What.

Disc 1:

  1. The Sound Of Silence—Live at Webster Hall
  2. The Boxer—Live at Central Park
  3. Bridge Over Troubled Water—Aretha Franklin
  4. Mother And Child Reunion
  5. Tenderness
  6. Peace Like A River
  7. American Tune
  8. Kodachrome
  9. Something So Right
  10. Late In The Evening
  11. Train In The Distance
  12. Hearts And Bones
  13. Rene And Georgette Magritte With Their Dog After The War
  14. Still Crazy After All These Years
  15. Diamonds On The Sole Of Her Shoes
  16. The Boy In The Bubble
  17. Graceland

Disc 2:

  1. Obvious Child
  2. Further To Fly
  3. The Cool, Cool River
  4. Spirit Voices
  5. Born In Puerto Rico
  6. Quality
  7. Darling Lorraine
  8. Look At That
  9. Senorita With A Necklace Of Tears
  10. That's Me
  11. Another Galaxy
  12. Father And Daughter
  13. Rewrite
  14. Love And Hard Times
  15. So Beautiful Or So What

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2019. All rights reserved.


Live Reviews
Album Reviews
Extended Analysis
Album Reviews
Read more articles
Live 1969

Live 1969

Columbia Records



Warner Bros.



Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

More News