New Album by Angelique Kidjo + MP3 Download


Sign in to view read count
Deemed Africa's premier diva by Time, Angelique Kidjo follows up her Grammy-winning Djin Djin with Oyo. On the album, Kidjo collaborates with Bono one of the continents most ardent supporters joined with John Legend on a version of Curtis Mayfields Move on Up. The focus on Oyo is the music that shaped Kidjos artistic formation, including Lakutshn Llanga, a lullaby made famous by Kidjos hero, Miriam Makeba; Yoruban interpretations of Otis Reddings Ive Got Dreams to Remember and Santanas Samba Pa Ti; a collaboration with Diane Reeves on Monfe Ran E, an homage to the Aretha Franklin hit, Baby I Love You; and a take on James Browns Cold Sweat.

Recorded and mixed by Russell Elevado (DAngelo, The Roots, Erykah Badu) and produced by Kidjo and longtime collaborator Jean Hebrail, Oyo features a band of highly accomplished musicians, including guitarist Lionel Loueke, Christian McBride on upright bass, Kendrick Scott on drums and Thiokho Diagne on percussion. Trumpeter Roy Hargove makes a memorable appearance on Samba Pa Ti.

Enter to win the CD from Giant Step here

Angelique Kidjo Kelele [mp3]

Tour dates and streaming tracks

Continue Reading...



Timely announcements from the industry.

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.