NEA Jazz Masters Honored Today


Sign in to view read count
Funding for the arts in The United States may be eliminated or drastically reduced if the Trump administration has its way, but an established arts showcase will be presented this evening, we hope not for the last time. The 2017 National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Masters will be honored at the John F. Kennedy Center Washington, DC.

Dee Dee Bridgewater, vocalist, producer, broadcaster
Ira Gitler, author, editor, producer, educator
Dave Holland, bassist, cellist, composer, bandleader
Dick Hyman, keyboardist, composer, arranger
Dr. Lonnie Smith, organist, composer

All but Gitler, who is ailing, will be present and are expected to speak. Gitler’s son Fitz will represent him. At 7:30 p.m. Eastern time, the NEA will stream the event live on its website. National Public Radio will carry it at NPR.org/Music

From the NEA announcement:

The concert will include performances by NEA Jazz Masters Paquito D’Rivera and Lee Konitz, as well as Bill Charlap, Theo Croker, Aaron Diehl, Robin Eubanks, James Genus, Donald Harrison, Booker T. Jones, Sherrie Maricle and the Diva Jazz Orchestra, Peter Martin, Mike Moreno, China Moses, Steve Nelson, Kassa Overall, Chris Potter, Dianne Reeves, Nate Smith, Dan Tepfer, and Matthew Whitaker.

For further information, see the NEA site.

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of Rifftides by Doug Ramsey.
Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.



Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Jazz News