Marilyn Mazur Receives Norwegian Telenor Culture Award


Sign in to view read count
Telenor's Culture Award for 2007 has been presented to the Danish-American percussionist, ensemble leader, and composer Marilyn Mazur. Marilyn Mazur has been awarded a sum of NOK 250,000 for her bold and boundless art, on the highest international level. The award ceremony was held in Brum Kulturhus on Tuesday night.

“We congratulate Marilyn Mazur with Telenor's Culture Award for 2007, which is being presented for the twelfth time. For more than 35 years Mazur has impressed her audience with her outstanding work. During this period she has worked with international artists like Miles Davis and Jan Garbarek. This year, the jury has decided on an international artist with a solid Nordic background - not unlike the development we have witnessed in Telenor in recent years," said President and CEO of Telenor, Jon Fredrik Baksaas.

Renowned international artist “The winner of the Telenor Culture Award 2007 is a truly renowned international artist, not only due to the excellent quality of her art, but also because the boundaries of artistic and social conventions have been breached in such a convincing manner," said the jury in its statement.

“It is wonderful to receive such an acknowledgment, especially from the country of most of my favourite musicians. Through Telenor's Culture Award I get the opportunity to absorb myself in my musical world without having to run as fast as I usually do," said Marilyn Mazur.

About the Telenor Culture Award Telenor's Culture Award is part of Telenor's Culture Programme, which was established in 1995, in an effort to underpin the Group's core values. Previous award winners include actor Svein Tindberg, painter Wenche ien, choreographer Kjersti Alveberg, singer, musician and songwriter Kari Bremnes, author and film director Torun Lian, actor Juni Dahr, author Ingvar Ambjrnsen, independent theatre company Verdensteatret, dancer Ingrid Lorentzen, actor Anne Marit Jacobsen, and last year's winner The International Museum of Children's Art. The jury is chaired by Bjrn Kruse, Professor at the Norwegian Academy of Music. Also serving on the jury are Kjersti Alveberg, Shanti Brahmachari, Robert Marc Friedman, Lars Saabye Christensen, Thorbjrn Harr, and Kai Rosenberg.

This story appears courtesy of All About Jazz Publicity.
Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.

Visit Website

For interview requests or more information contact .

Post a comment


Shop Amazon

Jazz News

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.