Madeleine Peyroux Unveils Compelling New Album "Standing On The Rooftop"


Sign in to view read count
For her new album Standing On The Rooftop (6/14, Emarcy/Decca), multi-platinum vocalist Madeleine Peyroux teamed up with an all-star lineup-including pianist Allen Toussaint and bassist Me'shell Ndegeocello-to explore a rootsy new sound. In addition to Toussaint and Ndegeocello, the record features contributions from guitar iconoclast Marc Ribot (Tom Waits, Elvis Costello), drummer Charley Drayton (Neil Young, Johnny Cash), guitarist Chris Bruce (Seal, John Legend), and was produced by Craig Street (Norah Jones, k.d. Lang).

Peyroux penned most of the tracks herself, though she collaborated with former Rolling Stones bassist Bill Wyman on the funky “The Kind You Can't Afford" and violinist Jenny Scheinman on the captivating “The Things I've Seen Today." See below for a full tracklisting.

Peyroux's 2004 album Careless Love was a major breakthrough, reaching Gold status in the US, selling over two million copies worldwide and landing on numerous top-of-the-year lists. Known as a gifted interpreter of material from the jazz canon to Bob Dylan, with her last album, 2009's Bare Bones, Peyroux found her voice as a songwriter. The New York Times noted that Peyroux “has branched out to refine an enigmatic, low-key personal style that is all her own."

1. Martha My Dear
2. The Kind You Can't Afford
3. The Things I've Seen Today
4. Fickle Dove
5. Lay Your Sleeping Head, My Love
6. Standing On The Rooftop
7. I Threw It All Away
8. Love In Vain
9. Don't Pick A Fight With A Poet
10. Meet Me In Rio
11. Ophelia
12. The Way Of All Things


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.