Julius Hemphill Composition Awards


Sign in to view read count
Jazz Composers Alliance Box 491, Allston, MA 02134 (781) 899-3130 JCAComp@aol.com 05/22/02



CATEGORY 1 (Large Ensembles) Awards ($500) to: Christina Fuchs, Koln, German; John Rapson, Iowa City, IA; Joey Sellers, Dekalb, Il Finalists (receive Mark of the Unicorn Music Software): Aaron Mendez, Brooklyn, NY; Dave Rivello, East Rochester, NY; Joel Harrison, New York, NY. Honorable Mentions (CDs from Accurate records): Thomas Bergman, Berlin, Germany; Jurgen Friedrich, Cologne, Germany; Ernesto Klar, Cambridge, MA; Nicolas Sorin, New York, NY; Larry Steen, Los Angeles, CA; Marc van Vugt, Houten, The Netherlands.

CATEGORY 2 (SMALL ENSEMBLES) Awards ($500) to: Jurgen Friedrich, Cologne, Germany; John Hollenbeck, New York, NY; Peter Apfelbaum, Brooklyn, NY. Finalists (receive Mark of the Unicorn Music Software): Jimi Durso, Westbury, NY; Chris Greco, Pasadena, CA; Mark Nodwell, Vancouver B.C., Canada. Honorable Mentions (CDs from Accurate records): Justin Morell, Oakland, CA; John Rapson, Iowa City; Matt Steckler, Salem, MA; Jacob Koller, Phoenix, AZ; NY; Joey Sellers, Dekalb, Il.

Now in its 10th year, the Jazz Composers Alliance/Julius Hemphill Composition Awards have drawn music from all over the United States and the world, from as far a Russia and China. Music was sent from 26 states and 13 countries. We are excited and pleased to be able to honor the winning compositions; all were outstanding, inventive works.

Judging this music has become more difficult each year. The quality of submissions has been very high, and its difficult to compare as they represent such a range of approaches, styles, forms and intentions: each year, this event becomes more diverse and competitive. We appreciate the efforts of all who sent music and who have helped to make this a significant event. A total of $3000 is being awarded. Finalists will receive their choice of software from Mark Of The Unicorn. Honorable mentions will receive compact discs from Accurate Records. One or more of the winning large ensemble compositions will be performed by the JCA Orchestra in 2002-2003. Guidelines for the 2002 Jazz Composers Alliance/Julius Hemphill Composition Awards will be late summer or early fall. For further information, please contact the JCA at JCAComp@aol.com

Judges and their principal affiliations: Laura Andel: Jazz Composers Alliance; Bob Blumenthal: noted jazz writer and critic; Charles Coe: Massachusetts Cultural Council; Russ Gershon: leader of Either Orchestra and owner of Accurate Records; Darrell Katz: director, Jazz Composers Alliance: David Harris: Jazz Composers Alliance and Naftules Dream; Rick McLaughlin: Either Orchestra, JCA Orchestra; Matthew Nichol: Berklee College of Music; Bob Pilkington: JCA Orchestra; Ken Pullig: Director of Jazz composition at Berklee College of Music; Warren Senders: Jazz Composers Alliance; Ken Schaphorst: Director of Jazz studies, New England Conservatory; Rebecca Shrimpton: JCA Orchestra.

The Jazz Composers Alliance is funded in part by The Massachusetts Cultural Council, a State Agency which also receives support from the National Endowment for the Arts, and by Mark Of The Unicorn, INC and Accurate Records.

For interview requests or more information contact .



Timely news from the industry.

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY NOW  

Support our sponsor

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!

Buy it!