Jazz FM Awards 2013 Nominees Announced


Sign in to view read count
And the Nominees are...
Jamie Cullum, Sonny Rollins and Roller Trio
up for the Inaugural Jazz FM Awards 2013

With three months to go until the first Jazz FM Awards Powered by Klipsch, the nominations have been announced today, revealing that 2013 see’s Jamie Cullum up for UK Jazz Artist of the Year and Sonny Rollins up for International Artist of the Year. Gregory Porter and Robert Glasper will go head to head in the Album of the Year Award.

The 34 nominations recognise and commend those who have made exceptional contributions to jazz this year. The awards see new talent and legends up for the coveted gongs and the public will have the opportunity to get involved too with a public vote for the UK Jazz Artist of the Year. The public voting will begin on 1st November 2012.

The nominations were chosen by a 13-strong panel of experts which included jazz journalists Clive Davis, Mike Hobart, Rob Adams, Stuart Nicholson and Seb Scotney; the live jazz promoters Steve Rubie (the 606 Club), Paul Pace (Ronnie Scott's) and Ross Dines (Pizza Express); and international commentators including John Kelman (All About Jazz), Howard Mandel (Jazz Journalist Association) and Peter Schulze (Jazzahead).

The winners will be named at the awards ceremony on January 31st at Number One Marylebone and will be selected by an expert panel of judges including: John Cumming, Director of Serious Productions, Tony Dudley-Evans, Artistic Director of Birmingham Jazz and of the Cheltenham Jazz Festival and Alex Webb, Songwriter, Musician and Journalist.

Judges have been selected based on their roles and contributions to the jazz industry, with the UK Jazz Artist of the Year Award up for public vote. Online voting opens on 1st November 2012, at jazzfmawards.com and voters have the opportunity to win a pair of Klipsch headphones.

The Jazz FM Awards Nominees are:

International Jazz Artist
Kurt Elling
Sonny Rollins
Brad Mehldau 

Cutting Edge Award for Jazz Innovation
Django Bates
Robert Glasper

Album Of The Year
Robert Glasper: Black Radio
Keith Jarrett: Sleeper
Pat Metheny: Unity Band
Gregory Porter: Be Good
John Surman: Saltash Bells
Ryan Truesdell: Centenial (Newly Discovered Works of Gil Evans)  

Jazz Media
Do The Math (website of Ethan Iverson of The Bad Plus)  
Jazzwise (magazine)

Best UK Newcomer
Josh Arcoleo 
Roller Trio
Troyka featuring Kit Downes  

Public Vote - UK Jazz Artist of the Year - Voting opens on 1st November 2012
Neil Cowley Trio
Jamie Cullum

UK Vocalist of the year
Carleen Anderson
Liane Carroll
Ian Shaw  

UK Instrumentalist of the year
Nathaniel Facey (saxophonist with Empirical) 
Ivo Neame (pianist with Phronesis) 
Phil Robson

Live UK shows of the year
Gregory Porter
PB Underground  

Best UK Jazz Venue
Band on the Wall
Cafe Oto
Ronnie Scotts

The event is invitation only and with fewer than 270 guests, the event is an exclusive and intimate celebration, but will be broadcast live on Jazz FM with video highlights of the awards and performances available online.

Visit Website

For interview requests or more information contact .



Timely announcements from the industry.

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.