Jazz at Lincoln Center Honors Jazz Legends with the 2005 Induction into the Nesuhi Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame


Sign in to view read count
Jazz at Lincoln Center celebrates the twelve newest inductees into the Neshui Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame with a special ceremony in honor of the jazz legends being recognized. A 58 person international voting panel, which included musicians, scholars and educators from 17 countries, was charged with selecting these definitive jazz artists. Criteria for nomination into the hall included excellence and the significance of the artists' contributions to the development and perpetuation of jazz. The Nesuhi Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame is a multimedia installation featuring a 14-foot video wall, interactive computer kiosks, and touch-activated virtual plaques. Visitors can celebrate the lives, artistry, and music of the jazz greats so integral to the history of the art form and industry

Induction Ceremony, Thursday, September 8, 2005 at 7:00pmExhibit open to the public beginning September 9th. The hall is free and open to the public between the hours of 10am-4pm, Tuesday through Sunday. The space is also open to ticket-holders in the evening.

MEDIA CAN SHOOT FROM: 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Nesuhi Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame inductees of 2005: Count Basie, Roy Eldridge, Ella Fitzgerald, Benny Goodman, Earl Hines, Johnny Hodges, Jo Jones, Charles Mingus, King Oliver, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins and Fats Waller. Inductees, family members of inductees, friends and fellow artists will be on hand to receive honors at the second annual private induction ceremony.

Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center. At Broadway and 60th Street.

Visit Website

For interview requests or more information contact .




Timely announcements from the industry.

comments powered by Disqus

Why wait?

Support All About Jazz and we'll deliver exclusive content, hide ads, hide slide-outs, and provide read access to our future articles.

Buy it!