Grammy 2013 Lifetime Achievement Winners: Ravi Shankar, Lightnin' Hopkins, Carole King and More


Sign in to view read count
The Recording Academy this morning announced its 2013 Special Merit Awards recipients. This year's Lifetime Achievement Award winners are Glenn Gould, Charlie Haden, Lightnin' Hopkins, Carole King, Patti Page, Ravi Shankar who died yesterday just hours before the nomination, and the Temptations.

Trustees Award winners are Marilyn and Alan Bergman, Leonard and Phil Chess, and Alan Livingston. Ikutaro Kakehashi, Dave Smith and Royer Labs are Technical Grammy Award recipients.

The Recording Academy's Lifetime Achievement Award “honors performers who have made contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording while the Trustees Award recognizes such contributions in areas other than performance". Both are determined by vote of The Recording Academy's National Board of Trustees.

Technical Grammy Award recipients are determined by vote of The Academy's Producers & Engineers Wing Advisory Council and Chapter Committees, as well as The Academy's Trustees. The award is presented to individuals and companies who have made contributions of outstanding technical significance to the recording field.

A special ceremony will be held during Grammy Week on Feb. 9, 2013, with a formal acknowledgment will be made during the Grammy telecast, which will be held at Staples Center in Los Angeles on Sunday, Feb. 10, 2013, and broadcast live at 8 p.m. ET/PT on CBS.

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of HypeBot.
Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Jazz News