Support All About Jazz

All About Jazz needs your help and we have a deal. Pay $20 and we'll hide those six pesky Google ads that appear on every page, plus this box and the slideout box on the right for a full year! You'll also fund website expansion.

I want to help

For the Artists: Critical Writing, Volume 2, a new book by Greg Masters


Sign in to view read count
Miles Davis
NEW YORK, NY – Crony Books is pleased to announce the publication of a new book, For the Artists: Critical Writing, Volume 2, by Greg Masters.

While For the Artists: Critical Writing, Volume 1, issued earlier this year, focused on Masters' collected writings on the visual arts, this new volume gathers reviews of music and books, including critical essays and interviews with musicians.

Perhaps most prominent are a series of essays on the electric period of Miles Davis. In-depth reviews examine the aural sensations this creative artist forged in the late 60s through mid-70s, a continual reinvention of sounds that, as Masters claims, is “rebellious in its uncompromising intensity and uncategorizable for its urgent flooding past genre definitions."

Other essays in the book examine the work of Gertrude Stein, William Wordsworth, William Carlos Williams and Blaise Cendrars.

The 176-page book (ISBN: 978-0-9859267-5-5, publication date: September 2014) is available as a softcover for $9.99 from Crony Books. It is also available as an e-book from most online sources.

“Greg Masters always hears things others miss." —James Hale, DownBeat Magazine



Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

All About Vince Guaraldi!

An exclusive opportunity for All About Jazz readers to participate in the celebration of a jazz legend.