Flautist Bill McBirnie releases The Silent Wish with Bernie Senensky


Sign in to view read count
The Silent Wish is the latest release from Canada's premier jazz and Latin flutist, Bill McBirnie, and it features Bill's superior craftsmanship along with that of his longstanding and formidable accompanist, Bernie Senensky, in an intimate duo setting, brimming with pristine acoustic clarity, that displays their uncommon levels of musicianship and simpatico as they explore a diverse range of material, integrated by a ubiquitous and enchanting “minor theme” inspired by Bill’s wife, Svetlana.

Here are some reactions to Bill McBirnie and Bernie Senensky’s work to date:

SIR JAMES GALWAY—"I want to tell you how much I enjoyed your latest, and greatest, CD. I’ve listened to it several times and it’s a really terrific record. You are my favourite jazz flutist…This album is a real knock-out!…"

DOWNBEAT—"…Toronto’s deep pool of local talent was on display at dozens of events…Opening for Eliane Elias, flutist Bill McBirnie proved a passionate and eloquent improviser with sure-footed support from pianist Bernie Senensky. Their set included...a show-stopping finale penned by Senensky...inspired by Hermeto Pascoal and Charlie Parker” (Allen Morrison)

JAZZTIMES—"Best Opening Act [at the TD Jazz Festival] – Eliane Elias delivered a solid, opening-weekend show at the Old Mill Inn, focusing squarely on selections from her recent Chet Baker tribute, I Thought About You. But it was the dynamic opening duo of pianist and composer, Bernie Senensky, and flutist, Bill McBirnie, that...truly set the expansive dining room aflame and, ironically, provided far more satisfying dips into the Brazilian songbook...For the uninitiated, check out their 2005 pairing on Paco Paco.” (Christopher Loudon)

JAZZIZ—"...An effervescent, joyous quality pervades The Bill McBirnie Trio's Find Your Place [which] showcases a wide range of grooves, from bop and bossa to gospel and swing…Those new to McBirnie will be amazed at his imagination and originality on this engaging album." (Mark Holston)

You can purchase The Silent Wish as a CD or a download at CDBaby here. You can also purchase The Silent Wish as a download at iTunes here

The Silent Wish track listing

  • Reflection (Ray Bryant)
  • Black Orpheus/Morning Of The Carnival (Luis Bonfa)
  • Saber Cair/Knowing How To Fall (Louis Simão & David French)
  • Cabana Boy (Michele Mele)
  • My Heart Belongs To Daddy (Cole Porter)
  • First Song (for Ruth) (Charlie Haden)
  • Recado Bossa Nova (Djalma Ferreira)
  • Dança da Solidão (Paulinho da Viola)
  • No Moon At All (David Mann)
  • Away From Home (Bill McBirnie & Bruce Jones)
  • Blue Bossa (Kenny Dorham)
  • What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life? (Michel Legrand, Alan & Marilyn Bergman)

This story appears courtesy of All About Jazz Publicity.
Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.

Visit Website | Purchase

For interview requests or more information contact .

Post a comment



Shop Amazon

Jazz News


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.