110

Buckwheat Zydeco: Tour/Album

SOURCE:

Sign in to view read count
BUCKWHEAT ZYDECO CELEBRATES 30TH ANNIVERSARY WITH NEW NORTH AMERICAN TOUR DATES
NEW ALBUM, LAY YOUR BURDEN DOWN, RECEIVES STELLAR REVIEWS ACROSS THE COUNTRY



Buckwheat Zydeco


Buckwheat Zydeco have been celebrating their 30th anniversary and the release of Lay Your Burden Down (released May 5), with a massive North American tour.



Buckwheat Zydeco recorded Lay Your Burden Down at Dockside Studios in Maurice, Louisiana in January and February with Steve Berlin (Los Lobos) producing (as well as leading the horn section). Guest stars including Louisiana slide guitar wizard Sonny Landreth, Gov't Mule guitarist Warren Haynes, Alligator label mate JJ Grey and New Orleans phenomenon Trombone Shorty.



Tour Dates:


07/10/09 Fri Visulite Theatre Charlotte, NC


07/11/09 Sat Farthing Auditorium Boone, NC
07/15/09 Wed Jonathan's Ogunquit, ME


07/19/09 Sun Cisco Ottawa Bluesfest Ottawa, ON


07/21/09 Tue Regattabar Cambridge, MA


07/23/09 Thu Stephen Talkhouse Amagansett, NY


07/24/09 Fri Prospect Park Bandshell Brooklyn, NY
07/24/09 Fri Celebrate Brooklyn Brooklyn, NY


07/25/09 Sat Bearsville Theater Woodstock, NY


07/26/09 Sun Pocono Blues Festival Blakeslee, PA


07/28/09 Tue Snail Pie Lounge Glenville, PA


08/19/09 Wed Diesel Pittsburgh, PA


08/20/09 Thu Grog Shop Cleveland, OH
08/21/09 Fri Botanical Conservetory Fort Wayne, IN


08/23/09 Sun The Rathskeller Indianapolis, IN


08/25/09 Tue Magic Bag Ferndale, MI


08/26/09 Wed Gilly's Dayton, OH


09/01/09 Tue Dakota Jazz Club & Restaurant Minneapolis, MN


09/02/09 Wed Beaumont Club Kansas City, MO


09/03/09 Thu Murphy's Lounge Omaha, NE


09/12/09 Sat Lincoln Theater Yountville, CA


10/17/09 Sat Rhythm & Blues Cruise Kansas City, MO


10/18/09 Sun Rhythm & Blues Cruise Pacific



For more on Buckwheat Zydeco check our exclusive feature/interview from 2005 here.

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.

Post a comment

Tags

Jazz News

All About Jazz needs your support

Donate
All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.