Bruce Hornsby: New Album


Sign in to view read count

Bruce Hornsby

“Mr. Hornsby is a remarkable pianistThe America in his music is one of countless connections and intersectionsthat's still wide open and welcoming." The New York Times

Bruce Hornsby, a 13-time Grammy nominee and three-time Grammy winner, will add to his accomplished body of work with Levitate, his much-anticipated new album, set for release September 15 on Verve. The release is Hornsby's first studio album co-credited to his longstanding touring band The Noisemakers. Levitate follows his critically acclaimed 2007 collaborative efforts with bluegrass legend Ricky Skaggs and jazz giants Christian McBride and Jack DeJohnette.

Levitate contains 12 new songs, including “Cyclone," with lyrics from Grateful Dead lyricist Robert Hunter. The title cut, “Levitate," is an alternate version of a song from the recent Spike Lee film Kobe Doin' Work (for which Hornsby also provided the original score), and “Space is the Place" features an Eric Clapton guitar solo. Produced by Tony Berg (Squeeze, Nickel Creek) and Bruce Hornsby, Levitate features Hornsby on piano, dulcimer, keyboard and vocals, JV Collier on bass, Sonny Emory on drums, John “J.T." Thomas on organs and keyboards, Bobby Read on reeds and Doug Derryberry on guitars.

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.

Post a comment


Jazz News

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.