Blake Meister Releases Debut CD "Septagon" on Inner Circle Music


Sign in to view read count
Jazz bassist and composer Blake Meister has released his debut album, Septagon. The album consists entirely of original compositions, ranging from the off-center blues of the title cut to the evocative imagery of “Sunset" and the engaging tone poem “Market East."

“Blake Meister's debut release is filled with inspired writing performed by dedicated educators who are providing the next generation a clinic on how to properly communicate the lexicon of Jazz!!" —Jeff Duperon, WRTI FM, Philadelphia, PA  

The stellar lineup of musicians on Septagon includes Gary Thomas on tenor saxophone and flute, Paul Bollenback on guitar, Marc Copland on piano, and Ralph Peterson on drums—all players with long and distinguished careers in jazz.

Meister and Thomas have been colleagues for years at The Peabody Conservatory of Music at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, both on the faculty and as partners in countless gigs from Baltimore to Tokyo. Meister is also an alumnus of Peabody, and has a master's degree from the Benjamin T. Rome School Of Music at Catholic University.  

In addition, Meister has received several performance and career development awards, including the Individual Artist Award for non-classical composition from the Maryland State Arts Council in 2012. He is the bassist in the innovative multi-media ensemble The American Studio Orchestra.  

The release of Septagon not only solidifies Blake Meister's already substantial reputation as a top-notch bassist, but also introduces him to the broader public as a jazz composer with a lot to offer. The album is available directly from the Inner Circle label.

Personnel: Blake Meister (bass) Gary Thomas (tenor saxophone and flute), Paul Bollenback (guitar), Marc Copland (piano), and Ralph Peterson (drums)

Track Listing:
  1. Blackout (8:53)
  2. Sunken City (8:37)
  3. The Grind (5:51)
  4. Falling (In Slow Motion) (8:26)
  5. Cynic (8:25)
  6. Market East (8:22)
  7. Sunset (7:42)
  8. Septagon (7:34)


Post a comment



Shop Amazon

Jazz News

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.