Anticipated Charles Sullivan Album Re-Released by Inner City Records


Sign in to view read count
Inner City Records is proud to announce the re-release of Charles Sullivan's 1974 debut album Genesis. Sullivan, an under-appreciated veteran of the jazz scene, garnered widespread acclaim for this album upon its release, including a five-star review in DownBeat Magazine. Genesis features five original compositions by Sullivan, and includes players Sonny Fortune (alto sax), Dee Dee Bridgewater (vocals), Billy Hart (drums), Alex Blake (bass), and others. An historic album, long overdue for release on CD.

“Charles Sullivan deserves full honors for this lyrical debut album. Each of the compositions is Sullivan's own, as are the simple but effective arrangements which forge a collection of talented sidemen into an inspired ensemble... Sullivan has created a satisfying aural experience, an acoustic set electrified with feeling, alternating blue and brightly burning." --DownBeat Magazine

Visit Website | Purchase



Timely announcements from the industry.

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.