114

Al Di Meola: Live CD, U.S. Tour

SOURCE:

Sign in to view read count
JAZZ GUITARIST RETURNS WITH LIVE FROM SEATTLE AND ELSEWHERE
ANNOUNCES TWO MONTH U.S. TOUR

Al Di Meola


Al Di Meola - the “guitarist of spectacular abilities" (NY Times) lauded both as musical trailblazer and technical virtuoso - will kick off a two-month U.S. tour on January 28, 2010 with his acoustic group World Sinfonia. The dates will follow on the heels of a new live album, Live From Seattle And Elsewhere, consisting entirely of Di Meola originals, and slated for full national release on January 12.

Mixing lush, tango-inspired romanticism - heavily influenced by late Argentine master Astor Piazzolla, a friend and mentor - with Latin influences drawn both from Spanish traditions and Di Meola's own Italian heritage, Live From Seattle And Elsewhere expresses Di Meola's considerable range.

Al Di Meola With World Sinfonia U.S. Tour Dates

01/28/10 Thu Barns at Wolftrap Vienna, VA
01/29/10 Fri Count Basie Theatre Red Bank, NJ
01/30/10 Sat The Egg Albany, NY
01/31/10 Sun Infinity Music Hall & Bistso Norfolk, CT
02/04/10 Thu Variety Playhouse Atlanta, GA
02/05/10 Fri Largo Cultural Center Largo, FL
02/06/10 Sat The Plaza Theatre Orlando, FL
02/11/10 Thu Granada Theater Dallas, TX
02/12/10 Fri One World Theater Austin, TX
02/18/10 Thu Rialto Theatre Tucson, AZ
02/19/10 Fri Scottsdale Center for the Arts Scottsdale, AZ
02/20/10 Sat Grand Events Center @ Green Valley Ranch Casino Henderson, NV
02/23/10 Tue Anthology San Diego, CA
02/24/10 Wed Anthology San Diego, CA
02/25/10 Thu The Coach House San Juan Capistrano, CA
02/26/10 Fri House of Blues West Hollywood, CA

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2020. All rights reserved.

Post a comment

Tags

Jazz News

All About Jazz needs your support

Donate
All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.