2009 JJA Jazz Awards Winners


Sign in to view read count
Drumroll, please! And the winners of the 2009 Jazz Journalist Association (JJA) awards are...

Top Honors

1. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz
Lee Konitz

2. Musician of the Year
Sonny Rollins

3. Composer of the Year
Maria Schneider

4. Up and Coming Artist of the Year
Esperanza Spalding

5. Events Producer of the Year
George Wein, New Festival Productions

Awards for Recordings

6. Record of the Year
Appearing Nightly, Carla Bley Big Band (Watt/ECM)

7. Latin Jazz Album of the Year
Song for Chico, Arturo O'Farrill (Zoho)

8. Historical Recording/Reissue of the Year
Road Shows, Vol. 1, Sonny Rollins (Emarcy/Doxy)

9. Historical Recording Box Set
The Lester Young/Count Basie Sessions 1936-40 (Mosaic)

10. Record Label of the Year

Awards for Musical Achievement

11. Female Singer of the Year
Cassandra Wilson

12. Male Singer of the Year
Kurt Elling

13. Instruments Rare in Jazz
Richard Galliano, accordion

14. Large Ensemble of the Year
Maria Schneider

15. Arranger of the Year
Maria Schneider

16. Small Ensemble of the Year
SFJAZZ Collective

17. Trumpeter of the Year
Terence Blanchard

18. Trombonist of the Year
Roswell Rudd

19. Tenor Saxophonist of the Year
Joshua Redman

20. Alto Saxophonist of the Year
Rudresh Mahanthappa

21. Flutist of the Year
Frank Wess

22. Baritone Saxophonist of the Year
Gary Smulyan

23. Soprano Saxophonist of the Year
Branford Marsalis

24. Clarinetist of the Year
Anat Cohen

25. Guitarist of the Year
Bill Frisell

26. Pianist of the Year
Hank Jones

27. Organist of the Year
Dr. Lonnie Smith

28. Strings Player of the Year
Billy Bang

29. Bassist of the Year
William Parker

30. Electric Bassist of the Year
Steve Swallow

31. Mallet Instrumentalist of the Year
Joe Locke

32. Percussionist of the Year
Hamid Drake

33. Drummer of the Year
Brian Blade

Jazz Journalists Awards

34. Periodical of the Year
Jazz Times

35. Website of the Year
All About Jazz

36. Blog of the Year
Jazz Beyond Jazz by Howard Mandel

37. Best Book About Jazz
A Power Stronger Than Itself: The AACM and American Experimental Music (University of Chicago Press) by George Lewis

38. Jazz Photo of the Year
Hank Jones, Montreal Jazz Festival 2008 By Kris King

39. Lona Foote-Bob Parent Award for Photography
John Abbott

40. Willis Conover-Marian McPartland Award for Broadcasting
Ben Young, Director, WKCR (Columbia University)

41. Helen Dance-Robert Palmer Award for Review and Feature Writing
Nate Chinen

42. Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism
Mike Zwerin

This story appears courtesy of All About Jazz.
Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.

Visit Website

For interview requests or more information contact .

Post a comment


Jazz News


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.