1,603 views

Tortoise: February Tour

SOURCE: Published:
TORTOISE SETS FEBRUARY TOUR DATES IN SUPPORT OF BEACONS OF ANCESTORSHIP

Tortoise




Tortoise, the world-renowned Chicago music pioneers, announces their first 2010 dates, hitting several cities that they didn't get to visit in 2009. Beacons of Ancestorship is the band's first record in over five years and continues to demonstrate their ability to push boundaries, remold their sound and yet still retain a sense of cohesion - a singular Tortoise mood/feeling/sound that is truly their own.

The band recently completed an extensive European tour where they collaborated with Cluster at the Royal Festival Hall in London, recorded an improvised BBC studio session with Colin Newman (Wire), and took part in the 10th Anniversary ATP Festival in Minehead, England.



Check out “Prepare Your Coffin" from the new album right here, and view the song's video here:





Tortoise Tour Dates


02/11/10 Thu Headliners Music Hall Louisville, KY
02/12/10 Fri Exit/In Nashville, TN
02/13/10 Sat BottleTree Birmingham, AL
02/14/10 Sun The Earl Atlanta, GA
02/15/10 Mon Cat's Cradle Carrboro, NC
02/16/10 Tue Black Cat Washington, DC
02/17/10 Wed Mr. Small's Theatre Pittsburgh, PA
02/18/10 Thu Lee's Palace Toronto, ON


02/19/10 Fri The Blind Pig Ann Arbor, MI
02/20/10 Sat Lincoln Hall Chicago, IL



For more on Tortoise check our exclusive feature interview here.


Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.

comments powered by Disqus
Sponsor: Summit Records | BUY NOW

Enter it twice.
To the weekly jazz events calendar

Enter the numbers in the graphic
Enter the code in this picture

Log in

One moment, you will be redirected shortly.

News Search


or search site with Google