Amazon.com Widgets
140 Recommend It! 1,923 views

Rickie Lee Jones Adds Dates

SOURCE: Published:
RICKIE LEE JONES ADDS FEBRUARY TOUR DATES IN SUPPORT OF
BALM IN GILEAD

Rickie Lee Jones


Rickie Lee Jones has added additional tour dates in February in support of her recently released album Balm in Gilead. The tour includes stops in Chicago, Seattle and Portland, and the set will feature songs from the new album as well as fan favorites from Jones' memorable past albums. The New Yorker called Balm in Gilead Jones' “strongest record of the second half of her career."

The tour comes on the heels of several TV performances including Jools Holland in the U.K., The Tonight Show with Conan O'Brien and The Ellen Degeneres Show, where Jones performed a stunning live version of “Old Enough" with Ben Harper. Harper is featured on the new album among other highly talented friends including Jon Brion, Bill Frisell, Victoria Williams, Alison Krauss and the late Vic Chesnutt, who recently passed away.

Click here to watch Rickie Lee Jones and Ben Harper on Ellen.

The release of Balm in Gilead celebrates Rickie Lee Jones' 30th anniversary of making music and reflects the lifetime work of a woman, whose very name is a genre. With her 1979 self-titled debut album and its top 10 hit, “Chuck E.'s in Love," Jones made an immediate impact on pop culture beginning with an indelible SNL appearance and an instantaneous Rolling Stone cover, all while winning a Grammy for Best New Artist. Three decades' worth of acclaimed creative journeys have ensued with both her singing and writing “voice" remaining, despite her pervasive and incalculable influence on two or three entire generations of singer/songwriters, among the most distinctive and instantly recognizable in music.





Rickie Lee Jones Tour Dates


02/13/10 Sat John Ascuaga's Nugget Sparks, NV
02/14/10 Sun Rio Theatre Santa Cruz, CA
02/16/10 Tue Vista Theatre Los Angeles, CA
02/18/10 Thu Aladdin Theater Portland, OR
02/19/10 Fri The Triple Door Seattle, WA
02/22/10 Mon Fitzgerald Theater Saint Paul, MN
02/23/10 Tue Barrymore Theatre Madison, WI
02/24/10 Wed Lincoln Hall Chicago, IL
02/25/10 Thu New York Society for Ethical Culture New York, NY
03/04/10 Thu Stenhammarsalen Gothenburg, SE
03/06/10 Sat Sentrum Scene Oslo, NO
03/07/10 Sun Berns Stockholm, SE
03/09/10 Tue Tavastia Helsinki, FI
03/11/10 Thu Katalin Uppsala, SE
03/12/10 Fri Palladium Malm, SE


View the original article...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.
Support All About Jazz Through Amazon

Weekly Giveaways

Tom Chang

Tom Chang

About | Enter

Cedar Walton

Cedar Walton

About | Enter

Sheryl Bailey

Sheryl Bailey

About | Enter

Roscoe Mitchell

Roscoe Mitchell

About | Enter

Sponsor: Signature Jazz Cruise