1,393 views

Progressive Nation Tour: Dream Theater/Zappa Plays Zappa

SOURCE: Published:
DREAM THEATER'S “PROGRESSIVE NATION 2009" TO TOUR NORTH AMERICA
IN JULY/AUG WITH SPECIAL GUESTS ZAPPA PLAYS ZAPPA, PAIN OF SALVATION AND BEARDFISH



Dream Theater


New York progressive metal veterans Dream Theater will take their Progressive Nation tour back on the road for its second incarnation with a run through America and Canada in July/Aug 2009.

In addition to a headlining set by Dream Theater, this year's package will feature the outstanding musicianship of Zappa Plays Zappa as well as two incredibly talented imports from Sweden: Pain of Salvation and Beardfish.



Progressive Nation was created by Dream Theater drummer Mike Portnoy and its successful inaugural run in 2008 also featured Opeth, Between The Buried and Me and Three.



Portnoy once again hand-picked all of the bands for the 2009 bill based on their diversity and musicality. He comments: “This year's lineup is so exciting for me. Every band is bringing something very unique to the package to create an incredibly well rounded musical experience. I am just as excited to be watching all the bands from the side of the stage as I am to be performing with mine in the center of it!"





Progressive Nation will be the first North American tour for Dream Theater in support of their newest Roadrunner Records release which is slated for a June 2009 release.



Progressive Nation Tour Dates


07/24/09 Fri The Fillmore Miami Beach at The Jackie Gleason Theater Miami Beach, FL


07/25/09 Sat Hard Rock Live Orlando, FL


07/26/09 Sun Ruth Eckerd Hall Clearwater, FL


07/28/09 Tue The Tabernacle Atlanta, GA


07/29/09 Wed Thomas Wolfe Auditorium Asheville, NC


07/31/09 Fri Tower Theater Upper Darby, PA


08/01/09 Sat Merriweather Post Pavilion Columbia, MD


08/02/09 Sun Bank Of America Pavilion Boston, MA


08/04/09 Tue Palace Theatre Albany, NY


08/05/09 Wed Chevrolet Theatre Wallingford, CT


08/07/09 Fri Convention Hall Asbury Park, NJ


08/11/09 Tue Agora Quebec City, QC


08/12/09 Wed Bell Centre Montreal, QC


08/14/09 Fri Molson Amphitheatre Toronto, ON


08/16/09 Sun Burton Cummings Theater Winnipeg, MB


08/18/09 Tue MacEwan Hall Ballroom Calgary, AB


08/19/09 Wed Shaw Conference Centre Edmonton, AB


08/21/09 Fri Orpheum Theatre Minneapolis, MN


08/22/09 Sat Riverside Theater Milwaukee, WI


08/23/09 Sun The Chicago Theatre Chicago, IL


08/25/09 Tue Temple Hoyne Buell Theatre Denver, CO


08/27/09 Thu San Jose State Event Center San Jose, CA


08/28/09 Fri The Joint @ Hard Rock Hotel Las Vegas, NV


08/29/09 Sat Greek Theatre Los Angeles, CA


Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.
comments powered by Disqus
Sponsor: Summit Records | BUY NOW

Enter it twice.
To the weekly jazz events calendar

Enter the numbers in the graphic
Enter the code in this picture

Log in

One moment, you will be redirected shortly.

News Search


or search site with Google