135 Recommend It! 3,567 views

Legendary Reggae Band the Wailers Contribute Exclusive New Track to "Solutions for Dreamers: Season 3"

SOURCE: Published: 2010-06-28
Legendary Reggae Band The Wailers Contribute Exclusive New Track, “A Step for Manking," to Solutions for Dreamers: Season 3

All proceeds benefit United Nations' World Food Programme

Legendary reggae group The Wailers, are pleased to announce the inclusion of an exclusive new track, “A Step for Mankind," recorded in Jamaica specifically for Oniric Records' Solution for Dreamers: Season 3, and is set for release on July 1, 2010. The Wailers have been supporting the United Nations' World Food Programme (WFP) efforts to eradicate hunger throughout the world, and they specifically focus on Ethiopia.

“A Step for Mankind," written by singer-songwriter Duane Stephenson, is a call for world unity and strength to support the ongoing struggle against world hunger. Stephenson, a songwriter renowned for his portrayal of love, culture and spirituality, is recognized for many incredible reggae songs, most notably for his work on Jah Cure's reggae anthem “True Reflections." The band is joined on the track by new lead singer Koolant, a fresh talent from the heart of St. Thomas known for blazing a positive future for reggae music with his work, which has already spawned hits such as “Rat Race." Graced by the Wailers' singular groove, “A Step for Mankind" is a small taste of more music forthcoming from the Wailers, who recently entered the studio in Jamaica to begin work on an album of all-new material. Duane will also be going out on the road performing on select dates with the band as well as helping spread the word about hunger in the world.

All proceeds will benefit the World Food Programme, the world's largest humanitarian organization fighting hunger worldwide. A United Nations institution, the WFP is committed to getting food where it is needed, saving the lives of victims of war, civil conflict and natural disasters. Each year, on average, WFP feeds more than 90 million people in 70 countries.

In honor of the WFP's noble cause, Oniric Records created Solutions for Dreamers: Season 3. The label, founded in 2005, is an independent company dedicated to the promotion of artists who advocate social and environmental change through their music. The Solutions for Dreamers series was created to raise awareness and funds for non-profit partners of Oniric Records, such as environmental group Heal the Ocean.

Formed in Jamaica in the late 1960s, The Wailers have gone on to become the most successful reggae band of all time, selling 250 million albums, and playing live to an estimated 24 million people worldwide. The Wailers' leader and musical director Aston “Familyman" Barrett, helped forge the template for reggae with his booming, thunderous bass patterns. But more than just a bass player, Family Man was also the right-hand man of former band leader Bob Marley. He also played a large part in arranging Marley's songs and co-produced a number of the late icon's albums.

The band continues their relentless touring schedule bringing their message of peace and “one love" to their audiences worldwide.

This year Familyman celebrates 40 years as a Wailer clearly embodying what Marley once said, “My music will go on forever. Maybe its a fool say that, but when me know facts me can say facts. My music will go on forever." Get your reggae groove on and catch one of these dates and help support the Wailers in their efforts to eradicate world hunger.

Wailers US Tour Dates:
Wednesday, June 30: Council Bluffs, IA Whiskey Road House, Horseshoe Casino
Thursday, July 1: Des Moines, IA Simon Estes Amphitheater
Friday, July 2: San Rafael, CA - Marin County Fair
Saturday, July 3: Denver, CO Red Rocks Amphitheater
Tuesday, July 6: Seattle, WA Neumos
Wednesday, July 7: Portland, OR Crystal Ballroom
Thursday, July 8: Reno, NV Grand Sierra Resort & Casino
Friday, July 9: Inglewood, CA Hollywood Park
Saturday, July 10: Las Vegas, NV Mandalay Bay Beach
Sunday, July 11: San Diego, CA Soundwave
Thursday, July 15: Madrid, Spain Veranos De La Villa
Friday, July 16: Barcelona, Spain Cruilla De Cultures @ Parc Del Forum
Sunday, July 18: Alicante, Spain Nave 8
Monday, July 19: Valencia Spain Jardines de Viveros
Thursday, July 22: Firenze, Italy Fortezza de Basso
Friday, July 23: Genova, Italy Villa Serra Breakout Festival w/ The Skatalites
Saturday, July 24: Simaxis, Italy Campo Sportivo Comunale
Thursday, August 5: Hyeres, France Festival de Toulon
Friday, August 6: Beauly, Scotland Belladrum Estate
Saturday, August 7: Aveiro, France Barro Beach
Sunday, August 8: Odemira, Portugal Festival TMN Sudoeste w/ David Guetta, Steel Pulse & more
Tuesday, August 10: Budapest, Hungary Sziget Festival w/ The Aggrolites, The Skatalites, & more
Wednesday, August 11: Gijon, Spain Gijon Festivities
Friday, August 13: Chichester, UK Vintage @ Goodwood
Saturday, August 14: Pontevedra, Spain San Sebastian Festivities
Sunday, August 15: Aschaffenburg, Germany Afrika Karibik Festival
Monday, August 16: San Sebastian, Spain San Sebastian Festivities
Friday, August 20: Ottery Saint Mary, England Beautiful Days Festival
Saturday, August 21: Bedford, UK Rhythm Festival w/ Donovan, & more
Saturday, August 28: Aspatria, England Solfest
Sunday, August 29: Ubersee, Germany Chiemsee Reggae Summer festival
Thursday, September 9: Bucharest, Romania Sala Palatului


Visit Website

comments powered by Disqus
Read the All About Jazz Magazine - Free!

Read the All About Jazz Magazine - It's free!

Jam-packed with 100 pages covering a wide range of styles, subjects and from around the world—each issue includes interviews, profiles, columns, album reviews, web site news, and free MP3s. The AAJ magazine is available across all devices, can be shared socially, and opened from anywhere without the need to download an app.

Read the Winter 2014 Edition

Weekly Giveaways

Matthew Shipp

Matthew Shipp
About | Enter

Matt Ridley

Matt Ridley
About | Enter

Tord Gustavsen

Tord Gustavsen
About | Enter

Alfredo Rodriguez

Alfredo Rodriguez
About | Enter