Mo'Fone Releases "'Fonology"

Views: 2,154
Award-Winning Trio’s Third Album Release Party at Freight & Salvage, Berkeley, CA, Thursday, May 15

The award-winning saxophones-and-drums trio MO’FONE release their 3rd album, 'Fonology, with all new original compositions mixing meaty New Orleans Funk with Bay Area free-range Jazz.

With Larry De La Cruz and Jim Peterson on saxophones and Jeremy Steinkoler on drums and percussion, Mo’Fone explores the sonic landscape of its surprisingly minimalist instrumentation with relentless adventurousness, creating a huge sound that belies its compact size.

'Fonology includes longtime collaborator and founding member of the Dirty Dozen Brass Band Kirk Joseph on sousaphone, along with Bay Area stalwarts Marty Wehner on trombone, Stephen Kent on didgeridoo and percussion, and Danny Bittker on tenor saxophone.

MO’FONE will play and sell the new album at an all ages show at the Freight & Salvage in Berkeley, CA on Thursday, May 15.

'Fonology is full of catchy, fun and memorable tracks; from the Crescent City second-line romp of “No Nugget” and the buoyant, irrepressible “Jim’s Way”; the swampy funkiness of “Wind Pile” and the soulfully plaintive and cinematic “Regret”; and the haunting middle eastern “That & the Other,” Mo’Fone navigates a dazzlingly eclectic range of feels and shows the group is capable of terrific emotional depth.

Combining serious musicianship with an infectious sense of fun onstage, MO’FONE manages to groove with abandon, pushing their instruments well beyond their roles in a more traditional trio. Their groovy improvisations and original concept have twice earned them the award for Best Jazz Group in the 2008 & 2012 East Bay Express Readers Poll, a nomination for Best Funk Band in the SF Weekly 2008 Music Awards, and repeated slots at the Monterey Jazz Festival, SFJAZZ, and Sonoma Jazz Festivals.

Visit Website | Purchase

For interview requests or more information contact .

Related Video

CD/LP/Track Review
Live Reviews
Read more articles
Evander Music
Surf's Up
Surf's Up
Evander Music
Donald Harrison Donald Harrison
sax, alto
Eric Bolvin Eric Bolvin
World Saxophone Quartet World Saxophone Quartet
Harvey Mason Harvey Mason
Frank Catalano Frank Catalano
sax, tenor
Jimmy Owens Jimmy Owens
Dirty Dozen Brass Band Dirty Dozen Brass Band
Chuck Rainey Chuck Rainey
bass, electric

Shop For Jazz


Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google banner ads that appear on every page for a full year!

Fund All About Jazz's Future