Amazon.com Widgets
2,294 views

Bettye Lavette: Tour Dates and Change is Gonna Come Sessions

SOURCE: Published:
Iconic American Soul Singer-Songwriter Bettye LaVette's
A Change Is Gonna Come Sessions Now Available On Digital Services

Bettye LaVette


Venerated soul songstress <b>Bettye LaVette</b>'s triumphant new six-song EP A Change Is Gonna Come Sessions, previously an iTunes exclusive is now available from all digital services. 2009 has been a year of much deserved acclaim for LaVette. There was a night at the Kennedy Center Honors where her heartrending interpretation of The Who's “Love Reign O'er Me" left Pete Townshend noticeably moved and Foo Fighter Dave Grohl remarking, “She was so phenomenal, this performance of The Who song that she did. It will bring you to tears... it was just unbelievable." LaVette followed with a startling version of Sam Cooke's soaring anthem “A Change Is Gonna Come" in a duet with Jon Bon Jovi at the Obama presidential celebration which had Newsday calling it the historic event's “first amazing moment."



The June release of LaVette's celebrated A Change Is Gonna Come Sessions EP featuring a solo version of the title track as well as rousing interpretations of classics by Thelonious Monk, Billy Strayhorn, Bill Withers, Jimmy Reed and Billy Holiday. Backing LaVette on the record is a stellar ensemble featuring her pianist and musical director Al Hill, veteran bassist John Heard - who has accompanied such legends as Count Basie, Cole Porter, Ella Fitzgerald and Art Pepper - drummer Danny Frankel (K.D. Lang, Lou Reed), and Tom Hagerman of DeVotchKa providing strings. The result is soul music in the most literal sense, six stirring performances that demonstrate just why LaVette, after so many years, is a star on the rise. You can purchase Change Is Gonna Come Sessions from amazon.com.



Bettye LaVette Tour Dates:


08/30/09 Sun Outside Lands Festival San Francisco, CA


08/31/09 Mon Jimmy Mak's Portland, OR


09/01/09 Tue Jazz Alley Seattle, WA


09/02/09 Wed Jazz Alley Seattle, WA


09/04/09 Fri Anthology San Diego, CA


09/05/09 Sat Long Beach Blues Festival Long Beach, CA


09/12/09 Sat Playing With Fire Omaha, NE


09/20/09 Sun Brisbane Festival Brisbane, AU


09/21/09 Mon Brisbane Festival Brisbane, AU


09/25/09 Fri Sheldon Concert Hall St. Louis, MO


09/26/09 Sat Singletary Center Lexington, KY


09/29/09 Tue University of Kentucky Lexington, KY


10/23/09 Fri James Lumber Center For The Performing Arts Grayslake, IL


10/24/09 Sat McAninch Arts Center at College of DuPage Glen Ellyn, IL


02/02/10 Tue Hopkins Center for the Arts Hopkins, MN


03/12/10 Fri Community Theatre at Mayo Center Morristown, NJ


03/13/10 Sat Zeiterion Theatre New Bedford, MA


03/18/10 Thu Tarrytown Music Hall Tarrytown, NY


03/19/10 Fri Flynn Theater Burlington, VT


03/20/10 Sat Quick Center for the Arts Fairfield, CT


04/24/10 Sat Elgin Community College Elgin, IL


View the original article...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2014. All rights reserved.
comments powered by Disqus
Search
Support All About Jazz Through Amazon

Weekly Giveaways

Mark Elf

Mark Elf

About | Enter

Stefano Bollani

Stefano Bollani

About | Enter

Carmen Lundy

Carmen Lundy

About | Enter

Wadada Leo Smith

Wadada Leo Smith

About | Enter

Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY NOW

Enter it twice.
To the weekly jazz events calendar

Enter the numbers in the graphic
Enter the code in this picture

Log in

One moment, you will be redirected shortly.

News Search